Argument: A cluster bomb ban is worthless with so many non-signatories

Issue Report: Cluster bomb ban

Extended argument

14 countries have used cluster munitions: Eritrea, Ethiopia, France, Israel, Morocco, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Russia(USSR), Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Tajikistan, UK, US, and FR Yugoslavia. A small number of non-state armed groups have used the weapon, including Hezbollah in Lebanon in 2006. Billions of submunitions are stockpiled by some 76 countries, and a total of 34 states are known to have produced over 210 different types cluster munitions. Most of these countries are unwilling to sign a ban on cluster bombs. The ban is really only being signed by states that are currently not producing or deploying cluster bombs. As a result, the ban treaty is not really effectual in addressing the issue.[1]